NYC 16 | Film Festival

Film Festival

College Media Association Film Festival, debuting in New York at the 2016 CMA Convention, is designed to encourage and promote excellence in student video work, through giving awards and showing examples of top-notch projects in several categories:

Short Documentary

Non-fiction videos under 5 minutes in length

Long Documentary

Non-fiction video 5-30 minutes in length


Short films under 7 minutes in length


Promotional video for the NYC 2017 conference, created onsite, between 30-60 seconds.


All work must be completely produced by college students, and all videos must have been completed after Jan. 1, 2015. For the promotional video, you must be a paid registrant at NYC16. For the creative and documentary films, attendance at the convention is encouraged but not required.


For documentary and creative films: Feb. 15, 2016 at midnight.
Promotional video deadline: March 14, between 11 a.m.-noon.

Submission Guidelines

All entries, including the promotional video, must be accompanied by a $20 entry fee. Promotional videos must be submitted in person via flash drive or hard drive from 11 a.m. to noon March 14 next to the registration booth. All other submissions must be turned in via Google Drive:

  1. Use an existing Gmail account or set up a new one
  2. Create a folder with your name and entry type (ex: SmithLongDoc).
  3. Upload your file to the folder
  4. Send an invitation to share your folder with

All submissions must be

  • Smaller than 5 GB
  • File type .mov, .mp4 or .m4v

By uploading/submitting your files, you agree to the following:

  1. The video may be shown at the March 14, 2016, Film Festival Screening
  2. The video may be uploaded to the CMA film festival website for others to see
  3. The promotional video may be used by CMA in various venues and on the web
  4. All the work was completed by students
  5. The video was completed between Jan. 1, 2015 and Feb. 1, 2016.

Film Festival Screening

The winners will be announced and winning films will be shown during the convention, at 6:30 p.m. on March 14. The top three winners in each category will be given a plaque/trophy. Each of the winning entries will be shown in their entirety, except for the long documentary, which will have the first 5 minutes shown.


The deadline for the film festival was Feb. 15. You can still sign up for the promotional video, which will happen onsite.


The 2016 Winners

Short Creative

  1. Jacob Hubbert, Northwest Missouri State University
  2. Clark Eglinton, Loyola Marymount
  3. Ryan Warrick, Berry College

Long Documentary

  1. Caroline Knight, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
  2. Alec Balenciaga, Robert Morris University
  3. Jeni Swope, Missouri Western State University

Short Documentary

Honorable Mention: Jessie Tipton, University of Tennessee-Knoxville